Even after shortening their odds of winning, due to two horrific accidents – resulting in the loss of both cars, Audi came good and took the overall win at this year’s 24 hours of Le Mans race. The #2 R18 TDI driven by André Lotterer secured Audi’s tenth title, finishing a mere 13.854 seconds ahead of Peugeot’s Simon Pagenaud.

In just the first hour of the race, Alan McNish, in the #3 car, clipped a slower Ferrari on a right-hand bend just after the Dunlop Bridge. The crash was spectaular, seeing the car almost clearing a tyre barrier. Unbelievably McNish walked away, and was later given the all-clear by medical staff.

During the seventh hour, team-mate Mike Rockenfeller ended up hitting an armco barrier after colliding with another Ferrari, but this time just after Mulsanne. Thankfully Rockenfeller was able to free himself from the #1 car, but was kept in hospital overnight as a precautionary measure.

Well done to everyone involved!

1. #2 Audi Audi Sport Team Joest (LMP1)
2. #9 Peugeot Team Peugeot Total (LMP1) + 13.854
3. #8 Peugeot Peugeot Sport Total (LMP1) + 2 Laps
4. #7 Peugeot Peugeot Sport Total (LMP1) + 4 Laps
5. #10 Peugeot Team Oreca-Matmut (LMP1) + 16 Laps
6. #12 Lola Rebellion Racing (LMP1) + 17 Laps
7. #22 Lola Kronos Racing (LMP1) + 27 Laps
8. #41 Zytek Greaves Motorsport (LMP2) + 29 Laps
9. #26 Oreca Signatech Nissan (LMP2) + 35 Laps
10. #33 Lola Level 5 Motorsports (LMP2) + 36 Laps

[Source: Audi Motorsport]

Spread the love

AddThis Social Bookmark Button AddThis Feed Button

Comments are closed.


German Car Scene brings you all the latest news and rumours about the German car industry.


Use our search feature to find other posts.


Keep up-to-date with our latest headlines via RSS!

RSS   Feedburner stats

Add this blog to my Technorati favourites

Email Updates

Enter your email address and we'll let you know every time we update!

Delivered by FeedBurner