DTM Zandvoort: Farfus wins, Rockenfeller takes the title

Augusto Farfus
BMW’s Augusto Farfus took the top step of the podium following today’s DTM race in Zandvoort, but it wasn’t enough to stop Mike Rockenfeller taking the drivers’ crown after coming home second.

Starting from second on the grid, Farfus instantly edged ahead of Marco Wittmann, with Rockenfeller also passing Wittmann before the end of the first lap. Rockenfeller made good use of his option tyres, completely closing a four second gap between himself and Farfus, until the BMW driver came in to switch from standard to option rubber. Rockenfeller pitted two laps later, but could not match the pace of Farfus, and was even briefly pushed to third by Timo Scheider following the second set of stops.

Scheider soon handed the position back to Rockenfeller, but still enjoyed his first podium spot since the Lausitzring in 2011, with Mattias Ekstrom managing an impressive fourth after previously running dead last. Partly aided by the safety car, which came out following a clash between Jamie Green and Dirk Werner, the Swede climbed twelve places in ten laps, passing Hand, Tambay and finally Wittmann on the closing lap.

While the champagne corks were popping for Audi and BMW, it was a pretty lousy weekend for Mercedes, with best-placed Gary Paffett’s ninth making it a weekend to forget.

Audi now leads the Manufacturers’ Championship with 325 points ahead of BMW (317) and Mercedes-Benz (239).

2013 DTM Zandvoort Results
1. A Farfus RBM BMW 1h13m26.294s
2. M Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi +1.603s
3. T Scheider Abt Audi +2.149s
4. M Ekstrom Abt Audi +3.383s
5. M Wittmann MTEK BMW +3.652s
6. A Tambay Abt Audi +3.834s
7. J Hand RBM BMW +4.444s
8. F Albuquerque Rosberg Audi +5.060s
9. G Paffett HWA Mercedes +6.795s
10. M Molina Phoenix Audi +7.023s
11. M Tomczyk RMG BMW +7.397s
12. P Wehrlein Mucke Mercedes +7.415s
13. J Green Abt Audi +8.068s
14. E Mortara Rosberg Audi +9.992s
15. C Vietoris HWA Mercedes +10.596s
16. R Wickens HWA Mercedes +11.117s
17. D Juncadella Mucke Mercedes +11.558s
18. T Glock MTEK BMW +12.043s
19. A Priaulx RMG BMW +12.890s
20. B Spengler Schnitzer BMW +21.301s

[Source: DTM]

Spread the love

AddThis Social Bookmark Button AddThis Feed Button

Comments are closed.


German Car Scene brings you all the latest news and rumours about the German car industry.


Use our search feature to find other posts.


Keep up-to-date with our latest headlines via RSS!

RSS   Feedburner stats

Add this blog to my Technorati favourites

Email Updates

Enter your email address and we'll let you know every time we update!

Delivered by FeedBurner