F1: Hamilton wins in Canada

Lewis Hamilton has become the seventh different winner in seven races after tasting victory at today’s Canadian Grand Prix.

Red Bull Renault’s Sebastian Vettel had started from pole and led during the opening stages, but dropped back to third after Alonso and Hamilton jumped him while he pitted for tyres. Lewis went on to pass the Ferrari on its out lap, grabbing the lead.

Alonso and Vettel then tried to make it to the end of the race without stopping for fresh rubber – a plan that they paid a high price for. The world champion eventually came in very late, but Alonso stubbornly stayed out until the bitter end. Hamilton’s supersoft tyres saw him take the top step of the podium, with Lotus Renault’s Romain Grosjean securing second and Sergio Perez coming home third in his Sauber Ferrari (both making one-stop strategies work for them). Vettel’s new tyres enabled him to pass Alonso for fourth, with the Spaniard having to settle for fifth.

It was a grim weekend for Hamilton’s team-mate, Jenson Button, who finished 16th after having to make three stops, while Mercedes GP’s Michael Schumacher was forced to retire after his DRS flap jammed open.

“I knew this was going to be a tough, tough race but I loved every minute of it. I never had a doubt in my mind that there wasn’t a possibility to win. I was thinking these guys are falling quite far behind, I assume they’re doing a one-stop. So I decided to keep pushing and build a gap,” said the delighted British driver.

Hamilton now leads the championship on 88 points, just ahead of Alonso and Vettel with 86 and 85 points.

Canadian Grand Prix Result – 70 Laps

1. Hamilton McLaren Mercedes 1h32:29.586
2. Grosjean Lotus Renault + 2.513
3. Perez Sauber Ferrari + 5.260
4. Vettel Red Bull Renault + 7.295
5. Alonso Ferrari + 13.411
6. Rosberg Mercedes + 13.842
7. Webber Red Bull Renault + 15.085
8. Raikkonen Lotus Renault + 15.567
9. Kobayashi Sauber Ferrari + 24.432
10. Massa Ferrari + 25.272
11. Di Resta Force India Mercedes + 37.693
12. Hulkenberg Force India Mercedes + 46.236
13. Maldonado Williams Renault + 47.052
14. Ricciardo Toro Rosso Ferrari + 1:04.475
15. Vergne Toro Rosso Ferrari + 1 lap
16. Button McLaren Mercedes + 1 lap
17. Senna Williams Renault + 1 lap
18. Kovalainen Caterham Renault + 1 lap
19. Petrov Caterham Renault + 1 lap
20. Pic Marussia Cosworth + 2 laps

[Source: BBC F1]

Spread the love

AddThis Social Bookmark Button AddThis Feed Button

Comments are closed.


German Car Scene brings you all the latest news and rumours about the German car industry.


Use our search feature to find other posts.


Keep up-to-date with our latest headlines via RSS!

RSS   Feedburner stats

Add this blog to my Technorati favourites

Email Updates

Enter your email address and we'll let you know every time we update!

Delivered by FeedBurner